Tools

Distribution Extension 2.1

What’s New in Hovercraft

Martin van Soest
5 min readSep 26, 2021

--

Ever since I launched my chrome extension, I regretted giving it such a dull and uninspiring name. A name, I should add, I am unable to change. The name has no ring to it whatsoever:

Medium Distributed in Stats 2.1.x is here!

Doesn’t quite work, does it? How about I give this release a spiffy codename? Let’s try again.

Medium Distribution Info Celebrates Its Latest Release: Hovercraft!

Sounds a lot better, right? Did you notice I also changed the name of the extension there? Writing about it had me Google the solution. Sadly I can only check whether it worked once the update goes live.

This minor update has more in store than a new name. You should notice them right away, but as no product becomes great without feedback, I’ll tell you about them. Don’t hold back on the comments, please!

Hover Text Galore

This update’s main improvement is that there’s a little text explaining what you are looking at whenever you hover over either a tag or a topic.

Culture-shock! There was some evolution for this extension as well. Screenshots by me.

You get a helpful hover-text at the statistics of the story, the stats overview, and when you are reading the actual…

--

--

Martin van Soest

I write Medium Chrome Extensions and about anything that sparks my interest: hings that amaze, touch, or surprise me.